Andy Murray’s Outburst at Umpire and Disqualification from Italian Open

ANDY MURRAY had an EXPLOSIVE argument with an umpire throughout his first match on the Rome Masters in Italy.

The Scotsman raged at umpire Mohamed Lahyani after a difficult line-call on the baseline of the courtroom.

Andy Murray had a heated confrontation with umpire Mohamed Lahyani in the course of the recreationCredit score: Rex

Lahyani came down from his chair to inspect the court

Lahyani got here down from his chair to examine the courtroom

Murray had come into the Italian Open recent from successful the Aix-en-Provence, his first ATP Tour title in 4 years.

He drew a tricky first spherical, developing in opposition to former top-ten participant Fognini.

The Italian dominated the primary set, urged on by a house crowd, however Murray fought again valiantly to make the rating 5-3.

With the match hotting up, Fognini went to serve and produced an enormous lob that was referred to as in by the road decide.

Rachel Stuhlmann shows off curves as fans say 'you can show her face' in new ad
Win an incredible Rolex or £15k cash alternative from just 89p with our discount code

However Murray instantly challenged the decision, bringing Lahyani down from his chair to examine the courtroom.

The 2 have been seen pointing on the baseline, with Lahyani even crouching down to look at the place the ball had made a mark within the clay.

Nonetheless, the umpire agreed with the unique name, prompting a livid outburst from Murray.

He started shouting: “You may see the ball mark mate.

“Mohamed, look. How will you see that ball from there being in? How is it doable?”

He even accused the umpire of making an attempt to sabotage the mark, saying: “You’re making an attempt to make a mark now. You may see the clay continues to be there. You may see the ball mark.”

Lahyani ran again to his chair having had sufficient of the trade, however Murray adopted him.

He screamed on the umpire: “ you’ve bought that incorrect.”

Murray and Lahyani debated whether Fognini's serve had been called in correctly

Murray and Lahyani debated whether or not Fognini’s serve had been referred to as in accurately

Murray even followed Lahyani back to his umpire's chair as the two continued to argue

Murray even adopted Lahyani again to his umpire’s chair as the 2 continued to argue

And Murray was right- Hawkeye then confirmed Fognini’s shot had landed simply exterior the baseline.

However, the Italian Open doesn’t use Hawkeye for line calls, as an alternative counting on the umpire, so the choice gave Fognini some extent to carry serve.

The choice re-sparked debate over the usage of Digital Line Calling techniques like Hawkeye, with the know-how solely being rolled out throughout all ATP tournaments in 2025.

Murray finally misplaced in three units to the Italian, and will likely be upset with the result of the match after beginning the 12 months so positively.

Hawkeye later proved Murray right but isn't used for line calls in the Italian Open

Hawkeye later proved Murray proper however isn’t used for line calls within the Italian Open

Murray left the match dejected after losing in three sets to Fognini

Murray left the match dejected after dropping in three units to FogniniCredit score: Reuters


Posted

in

by